Media Contact: Barrie Handy, 206.757.8494 or

SEATTLE, JUNE 13, 2011 – In its ninth annual survey of the U.S. legal market, the prestigious legal directory Chambers USA: America's Leading Lawyers for Business (2011) has recognized 89 Davis Wright Tremaine attorneys across 32 practice areas and eight offices as leaders in their field.

The firm received top (Band 1) rankings in 13 practice areas, across five markets, including: Bankruptcy/Restructuring (Washington), Corporate/Commercial including Tax (Washington), Corporate/M&A (Alaska), Energy: State Regulatory & Litigation (California), Immigration (Washington), Labor & Employment (Washington and Alaska), Litigation: General Commercial (Washington), Media & Entertainment (California, New York and District of Columbia), and Real Estate (Washington and Alaska).

Chambers also recognized 10 Davis Wright Tremaine attorneys as leaders in nationwide categories:

1. Nancy J. Felsten (Advertising: Transactional & Regulatory)
2. Laura R. Handman (First Amendment Litigation)
3. Bruce E.H. Johnson (First Amendment Litigation)
4. Victor A. Kovner (First Amendment Litigation)
5. Jesse D. Lyon (Food & Beverages: Alcohol)
6. Elizabeth A. McNamara (First Amendment Litigation)
7. Malcolm A. Moore (Wealth Management: Western Region)
8. Kelli L. Sager (First Amendment Litigation)
9. Rochelle Buchsbaum Spandorf (Franchising)
10. James Vasile (Energy: Electricity: Regulatory & Litigation)

Published by Chambers & Partners, Chambers USA selects law firms and individuals based on research gathered through extensive in-depth interviews with in-house counsel, industry experts and leading private practice attorneys across the nation. For more information on Chambers USA listings, please visit

The full list of recognized Davis Wright Tremaine attorneys follows, along with the geographic region they are recognized in.

Advertising: Transactional & Regulatory
Nancy J. Felsten (Nationwide)

Allison A. Davis (California)

C. Keith Allred (Washington)
Ragan Powers (Washington)
Harvey Schochet (California)

Greg F. Adams (Washington)
Bruce Bjerke (Washington)
Joseph D. Weinstein (Washington)
Joseph P. Whitford (Washington)
Marcus Williams (Washington)

Corporate/Commercial: Tax
Pamela Charles (Washington)
LaVerne Woods (Washington)
James E. Wreggelsworth (Washington)

Jon S. Dawson (Alaska)
Barbara Simpson Kraft (Alaska)
Jesse D. Lyon (Oregon)
Michael C. Phillips (Oregon)
Joseph Reece (Alaska)

Energy: Electricity (Regulatory & Litigation)
James B. Vasile (Nationwide)

Energy: State Regulatory & Litigation
Robert B. Gex (California)
Jeffrey Gray (California)
Steven Greenwald (California)
Edward W. O'Neill (California)

Lawrence B. Burke (Oregon)
Richard W. Elliott (Washington)
Richard M. Glick (Oregon)
Lynn T. Manolopoulos (Washington)
Daniel E. O'Leary (Oregon)

First Amendment Litigation
Laura R. Handman (Nationwide)
Bruce E.H. Johnson (Nationwide)
Victor A. Kovner (Nationwide)
Elizabeth A. McNamara (Nationwide)
Kelli L. Sager (Nationwide)

Food & Beverages: Alcohol
Jesse D. Lyon (Nationwide)

Rochelle Spandorf (Nationwide)

Dennis S. Diaz (California)
Kathleen H. Drummy (California)
Robert D. Girard (California)
Jill H. Gordon (California)
Terri D. Keville (California)
Robert L. Schuchard (California)

Christopher R. Helm (Washington)
James M. Mei (Oregon)
Richard M. Rawson (Washington)

Intellectual Property
Stuart R. Dunwoody (Washington)
Warren J. Rheaume (Washington)

Intellectual Property: Trademark & Copyright
Edward J. Davis (New York)
Marcia B. Paul (New York)

Labor & Employment
Carol J. Bernick (Oregon)
Mark W. Berry (Washington)
Robert A. Blackstone (Washington)
Henry Farber (Washington)
Lawton Humphrey (Washington)
Mark A. Hutcheson (Washington)
James H. Juliussen (Alaska)
Judith Droz Keyes (California)
Thomas A. Lemly (Washington)
Chrys Martin (Oregon)
Jenna Mooney (Oregon)
Michael Reiss (Washington)
Robert K. Stewart (Alaska)

Life Sciences: Corporate/Commercial
Seth D. Levy (California)

Litigation: General Commercial
David A. Ernst (Oregon)
John F. McGrory (Oregon)
Robert D. Newell (Oregon)
Daniel E. O'Leary (Oregon)
David W. Oesting (Alaska)
John Parnass (Washington)
Douglas C. Ross (Washington)
Stephen M. Rummage (Washington)
Timothy Volpert (Oregon)
Charles Wright (Washington)

Media & Entertainment
Robert Corn-Revere (District of Columbia)
Laura R. Handman (District of Columbia)

Media & Entertainment: Copyright & Contract Disputes
Elizabeth A. McNamara (New York)
Marcia B. Paul (New York)

Media & Entertainment: Film, Television and Theater
M. Graham Coleman (New York)

Media & Entertainment: First Amendment Litigation
Victor A. Kovner (New York)
Elizabeth A. McNamara (New York)

Media & Entertainment: Litigation
Thomas R. Burke (California)
Duffy Carolan (California)
Kelli L. Sager (California)
Alonzo Wickers IV (California)

Media & Entertainment: Mainly Regulatory
Robert Corn-Revere (District of Columbia)

Media & Entertainment: Transactional
Jill Cohen (California)

Real Estate
Jon Dawson (Alaska)
Marco de Sa e Silva (Washington)
Thomas A. Goeltz (Washington)
Eugene L. Grant (Oregon)
Jim Greenfield (Washington)
John Hanley (Washington)
Warren Koons (Washington)
Barbara Simpson Kraft (Alaska)
Donald E. Percival (Washington)
Joseph Reece (Alaska)
Thomas S. Smith (Oregon)

Real Estate: Zoning/Land Use
Mike Connors (Oregon)
Gregory S. Hathaway (Oregon)
John E. Keegan (Washington)

Telecom, Broadcast & Satellite: Regulatory
Paul Glist (District of Columbia)

Wealth Management: Western Region
Malcolm A. Moore (Nationwide)

About Davis Wright Tremaine

Davis Wright Tremaine LLP is a national law firm with more than 500 lawyers representing clients based throughout the United States and around the world. For more information, visit