Contact: Mark Fefer, Marketing Communications, 206.757.8583,

SEATTLE, JUNE 7, 2012 – In its tenth annual survey of the U.S. legal market, the prestigious directory Chambers USA: America’s Leading Lawyers for Business (2012) has recognized 89 Davis Wright Tremaine attorneys across 32 practice areas and eight offices as leaders in their fields.

The firm received top (Band 1) rankings in 13 practice areas across five states, including:

  • Bankruptcy/Restructuring (Washington)
  • Corporate/Commercial including Tax (Washington)
  • Corporate/M&A (Alaska)
  • Energy: State Regulatory & Litigation (California)
  • Immigration (Washington)
  • Labor & Employment (Washington and Alaska)
  • Litigation: General Commercial (Washington)
  • Media & Entertainment (California, New York, and District of Columbia)
  • Real Estate (Washington and Alaska)

Chambers recognized 12 Davis Wright attorneys as leaders in nationwide categories. They are:

  1. Robert Balin (First Amendment Litigation)
  2. Becky M. Bruner (Energy: Electricity, Regulatory & Litigation)
  3. Nancy J. Felsten (Advertising: Transactional & Regulatory)
  4. Laura R. Handman (First Amendment Litigation)
  5. Bruce E.H. Johnson (First Amendment Litigation)
  6. Victor A. Kovner (First Amendment Litigation)
  7. Jesse D. Lyon (Food & Beverages: Alcohol)
  8. Elizabeth A. McNamara (First Amendment Litigation)
  9. Malcolm A. Moore (Wealth Management: Western Region)
  10. Kelli L. Sager (First Amendment Litigation)
  11. Rochelle Buchsbaum Spandorf (Franchising)
  12. James Vasile (Energy: Electricity: Regulatory & Litigation)

Published by Chambers & Partners, Chambers USA selects law firms and individuals based on research gathered through extensive in-depth interviews with in-house counsel, industry experts, and leading private practice attorneys across the nation. For more information on Chambers USA listings, visit

The full list of recognized Davis Wright Tremaine attorneys follows, along with the geographic region they are recognized in.

Advertising: Transactional & Regulatory
Nancy J. Felsten (Nationwide)

Allison A. Davis (California)

C. Keith Allred (Washington)
Ragan Powers (Washington)
Harvey Schochet (California)

Greg F. Adams (Washington)
Bruce Bjerke (Washington)
Joseph D. Weinstein (Washington)
Joseph P. Whitford (Washington)
Marcus Williams (Washington)

Corporate/Commercial: Tax
Pamela Charles (Washington)
LaVerne Woods (Washington)
James E. Wreggelsworth (Washington)

Jon S. Dawson (Alaska)
Barbara Simpson Kraft (Alaska)
Jesse D. Lyon (Oregon)
Michael C. Phillips (Oregon)
Joseph Reece (Alaska)

Energy: Electricity (Regulatory & Litigation)
Becky M. Bruner (Nationwide)
James B. Vasile (Nationwide)

Energy: State Regulatory & Litigation
Jeffrey Gray (California)
Steven Greenwald (California)
Edward W. O’Neill (California)

Lawrence B. Burke (Oregon)
Richard W. Elliott (Washington)
Richard M. Glick (Oregon)
Lynn T. Manolopoulos (Washington)
Daniel E. O’Leary (Oregon)

First Amendment Litigation
Robert Balin (Nationwide)
Laura R. Handman (Nationwide)
Bruce E.H. Johnson (Nationwide)
Victor A. Kovner (Nationwide)
Elizabeth A. McNamara (Nationwide)
Kelli L. Sager (Nationwide)

Food & Beverages: Alcohol
Jesse D. Lyon (Nationwide)

Rochelle Spandorf (Nationwide)

Health Care
Dennis S. Diaz (California)
Kathleen H. Drummy (California)
Robert D. Girard (California)
Terri D. Keville (California)
Robert L. Schuchard (California)

Christopher R. Helm (Washington)
Richard M. Rawson (Washington)

Intellectual Property
Benjamin Byer (Washington)
Stuart R. Dunwoody (Washington)
Warren J. Rheaume (Washington)

Intellectual Property: Trademark & Copyright
Edward J. Davis (New York)
Marcia B. Paul (New York)

Labor & Employment
Carol J. Bernick (Oregon)
Mark W. Berry (Washington)
Robert A. Blackstone (Washington)
Henry Farber (Washington)
Gregory Fisher (Alaska) 
Lawton Humphrey (Washington)
Mark A. Hutcheson (Washington)
James H. Juliussen (Alaska)
Judith Droz Keyes (California)
Thomas A. Lemly (Washington)
Chrys Martin (Oregon)
Jenna Mooney (Oregon)
Michael Reiss (Washington)
Robert K. Stewart (Alaska)

Labor & Employment: Immigration
James M. Mei (Oregon)

Litigation: General Commercial
Jon S. Dawson (Alaska)
David A. Ernst (Oregon)
Rebecca J. Francis (Washington) 
John F. McGrory (Oregon)
Robert D. Newell (Oregon)
David W. Oesting (Alaska)
Daniel E. O’Leary (Oregon)
John Parnass (Washington)
Douglas C. Ross (Washington)
Stephen M. Rummage (Washington)
Charles Wright (Washington)

Media & Entertainment
Robert Corn-Revere (District of Columbia)
Laura R. Handman (District of Columbia)

Media & Entertainment: Copyright & Contract Disputes
Elizabeth A. McNamara (New York)
Marcia B. Paul (New York)

Media & Entertainment: First Amendment Litigation
Thomas R. Burke (California)
Victor A. Kovner (New York)
Elizabeth A. McNamara (New York)
Kelli L. Sager (California)
Alonzo Wickers IV (California)

Media & Entertainment: Litigation
Duffy Carolan (California)

Media & Entertainment: Mainly Regulatory
Robert Corn-Revere (District of Columbia)

Media & Entertainment: Theater
M. Graham Coleman (New York)

Media & Entertainment: Transactional
Jill Cohen (California)

Real Estate
Jon Dawson (Alaska)
Marco de Sa e Silva (Washington)
Thomas A. Goeltz (Washington)
Eugene L. Grant (Oregon)
Jim Greenfield (Washington) 
Warren Koons (Washington)
Barbara Simpson Kraft (Alaska)
Donald E. Percival (Washington)
Joseph Reece (Alaska)
Thomas S. Smith (Oregon)

Real Estate: Zoning/Land Use
Roger Alfred (Oregon)
Phillip E. Grillo (Oregon)
John E. Keegan (Washington)

Telecom, Broadcast & Satellite: Regulatory
Paul Glist (District of Columbia)

Wealth Management: Western Region
Malcolm A. Moore (Nationwide)

About Davis Wright Tremaine
Davis Wright Tremaine LLP is a national law firm with approximately 500 lawyers representing clients based throughout the United States and around the world. For more information, visit