Contact: Mark Fefer, Marketing Communications, 206.757.8583 or

JUNE 7, 2021 – Elizabeth McNamara, a partner in the New York office of Davis Wright Tremaine, has been named one of Hollywood's Top 100 Attorneys by The Hollywood Reporter. 

McNamara has now been recognized by THR as a leader on both coasts, having been honored last December in the magazine's inaugural list of Top 20 Entertainment Lawyers in New York.

McNamara's 3+ decades of experience include all areas of sophisticated IP, media, and entertainment litigation at the trial and appellate level of federal and state courts, in such areas as libel, privacy, copyright, trademark, prior restraint, and reporter's shield laws.

Over the past year she has achieved an extraordinary record of success for her clients in high-stakes litigation. 

  • She prevailed on behalf of Simon & Schuster in litigation over the explosive family memoir by then-President Trump's niece, "Too Much and Never Enough."
  • She won dismissal of copyright and libel-in-fiction claims against the hit Showtime series, "Billions."
  • She successfully argued on behalf of Gizmodo before the 11th Circuit, which affirmed dismissal of a $100 million defamation suit filed by Trump advisor Jason Miller. 
  • She helped achieve a remarkably fast, initial victory for the book publishing industry in a high-stakes copyright dispute with the Internet Archive.

McNamara's many previous honors include being named New York "Lawyer of the Year" by Best Lawyers and U.S. News in three different media-related practice areas. In 2018 she was named a Law360 Media/Entertainment MVP of the Year. She is one of only four lawyers (along with her colleague Laura Handman) currently ranked in Band 1 nationwide in First Amendment Litigation by Chambers USA.

About Davis Wright Tremaine
Davis Wright Tremaine LLP is a national, full-service law firm with approximately 580 lawyers. The firm is widely recognized as having the leading media and First Amendment practice in the country. In 2020, the team was named a Law360 Practice Group of the Year for the fifth consecutive time. For more information, visit