Many California local ordinances have mid-year minimum wage rate increases effective July 1, 2019. Our prior advisory addressed the increases to the minimum wage rates effective January 1, 2019, under the California state law and local ordinances, with a reminder of the future mid-year increases. This is another reminder for employers with California employees at or close to the minimum wage to check for mid-year increases under certain local ordinances.
The chart below shows the July 1, 2019, increases to local minimum wage rates throughout California. If a local ordinance sets a higher minimum wage rate than the California state minimum wage rate (which is currently $12 for employers with 26 or more employees), employers must comply with the local ordinance. More simply, the higher rate always applies.
For a PDF version of this chart, click here.
|Jurisdiction||New Minimum Wage Effective July 1, 2019|
|Alameda||$13.50 applies to all employers and employees who work two (2) hours or more a week within the boundaries of the City of Alameda.|
|Berkeley||$15.59 applies to employees who perform at least two hours of work within the geographic limits of the City of Berkeley.|
|Emeryville||$16.30 is the minimum wage requirement now for all businesses (including small independent restaurants).|
|Fremont||$13.50 is the minimum wage for large employers with 26 or more employees. Fremont's minimum wage ordinance provides an additional year for small business to transition to the change.|
|Los Angeles (City and Unincorporated Areas of County)||
$14.25 for employers with 26 or more employees in the City or the unincorporated areas of the County.
$13.25 for employers with 25 or fewer employees in the City or unincorporated areas of the County.
$14.25 for employers with 26 or more employees in the City of Malibu.
$13.25 for employers with fewer than 26 employees in the City of Malibu.
|Milpitas||$15.00 for employees who perform at least two hours of work per week in Milpitas, applying to employers who maintain a facility in Milpitas or who are subject to the Milpitas business license requirement.|
$13.25 for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
$14.25 for employers with 26 or more employees.
|San Francisco||$15.59 per hour applies to employees who perform work in San Francisco, including part-time and temporary employees.|
|San Leandro||$14.00 applies to all businesses or non-profits in San Leandro, regardless of number of employees.|
$14.25 for employers with 26 or more employees in the City of Santa Monica.
$13.25 for employers with fewer than 26 employees in the City of Santa Monica.