This week marks several important deadlines for Oregon employers, including requirements to distribute a Notice of Rights to all employees explaining pregnancy accommodations; increases to minimum wage rates; and changes to predictive scheduling laws for certain industries.
Pregnancy Accommodation Notice to All Employees Required by June 29
Employers with at least six employees must distribute a Notice of Rights to all employees by Monday June 29, 2020, explaining employees' rights related to pregnancy, childbirth, and related medical conditions. A template notice from the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries is available here.
As of January 1, 2020, employers with at least six employees have been required to provide the notice to individuals at the time of hire and to an employee within 10 days of learning of that employee's pregnancy.
Minimum Wage Changes on July 1
Oregon's minimum wage increases on July 1, 2020. The new rates are:
- $11.50 per hour in "non-urban" counties;
- $12.00 per hour in "standard" counties; and
- $13.25 per hour in "Portland metro" counties.
Employers can verify the rate for their location(s) using the zip code tool here.
Predictive Scheduling Law Changes on July 1
For large employers in retail, hospitality, or food service who are already subject to Oregon's existing predictive scheduling law, one key provision changes effective July 1, 2020.
The obligation to provide written notice of a work schedule at least seven calendar days before the first day of the schedule is now updated: employers must provide a written work schedule at least 14 calendar days before the first day of the work schedule, unless meeting an exception.
Employers should update practices and forms and ensure those providing scheduling notice are trained. In the event that changes to staffing needs or worker availability result from COVID-19, the employer may be exempt from scheduling rules and associated penalties but should consult legal counsel before relying on a pandemic-related exemption.